International Herbert Marcuse Society

October 9, 2021

Dr. Stefan Gandler Universidad Autónoma de Querétaro (UAQ) Santiago de Querétaro, Querétaro, Mexico

Dear Professor Gandler,

The board of directors of the International Herbert Marcuse Society is pleased to announce that you have been selected as the inaugural recipient of the **Bolívar Echeverría Prize**, awarded biennially by the International Herbert Marcuse Society, for an outstanding work (e.g., book, article, essay)—recently published in Spanish—that advances critical theory in the struggle for liberation. This honor is bestowed in recognition of your book, Marxismo crítico en México: Adolfo Sánchez Vázquez y Bolívar Echeverría.

The selection committee, composed of scholars from three continents, was unanimous in its voting. Your contributions are truly distinctive, provocative, and impressive.

¡Felicidades!

Warmly,

Andrew T. Lamas

Andrew T. Lamas
University of Pennsylvania
Secretary/Treasurer, International Herbert Marcuse Society

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Silvio R. G. Carneiro Universidade Federal do ABC São Paulo, BRASIL

Arnold L. Farr University of Kentucky Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Peter-Erwin Jansen Hochschule Koblenz Koblenz Karthause, GERMANY

Imaculada Kangussu Universidade Federal de Ouro Preto, BRASIL

Douglas Kellner University of California Los Angeles, California, USA

Andrew T. Lamas University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

Lauren Langman Loyola University Chicago, Illinois, USA

Terry Maley York University Toronto, Ontario, CANADA

Harold Marcuse University of California, Santa Barbara, California, USA

Robert Kirsch Arizona State University Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Savita Singh Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi, INDIA

Sarah Surak Salisbury University Salisbury, Maryland, USA

Peter Marcuse, ex officio, emeritus Columbia University

Charles Reitz, ex officio, emeritus K.C. Kansas Community College